2011 charity quilt #4 completed

Finally a finish for this project which will be turned in at my guild meeting tomorrow.  I wanted to try something different from my SID machine quilting and found a great idea/tutorial at Tallgrass Prairie Studio.  She suggests using painter’s tape to “mark” quilting lines.  I used tape on a twisted grid.

The lines are hard to see on the front photo of the quilt but they show up pretty well on the back picture.   I’m relatively happy with the result but it wasn’t as easy using the tape as I imagined.  I will probably be going back to my SID method or washable blue marker pens.  But don’t take my word for it.  You may love it!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in charity quilts, machine quilting, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 2011 charity quilt #4 completed

  1. Carol says:

    For something as simple as a nine patch I think I would opt for stitch in the ditch – the tape seems like too much trouble. Who are the recipients of your guild’s quilts? A handmade quilt – no matter how simple – is a wonderful thing – I am sure it will be cherished.

  2. rutheh says:

    What a sweet quilt. And how nice you make charity quilts!
    Always feels good to complete a project.

  3. Liz says:

    It is easier to see on the back, but I like the pattern. Was it sticky sewing next to the tape? Nice to have a finish to give to someone. I am sure they will be thrilled.

  4. It looks really nice and more forgiving than stitch in the ditch.

  5. Your quilting is perfect for this quilt. What a clever idea. Jacqui just moved to Chicago and is joining our guild this month. So excited! I’ll be sure to share this idea and your success with the guild and her!

  6. Lani Longshore says:

    Congratulations! The tape technique is very useful. I remember using masking tape to mark straight lines for hand or machine quilting many years ago. Painters’ tape doesn’t leave a residue, so is definitely an improvement. Using a skewed grid for the 9-Patch is a great idea – no need to worry about slight wobbles as you would with quilting in the ditch.

  7. Val says:

    I will try this twisted grid technique. thanks, Carol.

Leave a Reply

