Some favorites from QuiltFest

As promised, here are a few of the quilts that caught my eye at QuiltFest Jacksonville.  I bought a DVD of all the quilts so I knew I didn’t have to spend all my time taking photos.  I particularly liked the 1st place winner in the Large Pieced category.  Sorry I chopped off the bottom.




Here is my friend Carol‘s third place winner in the Large Pieced Duet category.

I didn’t photograph the info cards for the others but wanted to share anyway.




The last one in the above row is Hawaiian applique using hand dyed fabrics.  I never really wanted to try this reverse applique technique but with the additional dye element, it’s now on my list.  The first day of the show I didn’t really see the teapot in this last quilt because I was standing too close.  Isn’t it fabulous?

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Some favorites from QuiltFest

  1. Carol says:

    Gosh – was I at the same show ? I don’t remember the teapot quilt! I am going to have to study the CD – there are so many quilts at the show it is hard to take them all in – even after three days. Can you imagine how overwhelming a show like Houston must be? Well… you are going to soon find out!

  2. Thanks for the eye candy. And really – you’re going to Houston!?! You must be my quilt eyes when you’re there!

  3. Lisa says:

    Fabulous quilts! Thanks for sharing them. I love the teapot quilt.

  4. ali says:

    Awesome images–I love the teapot quilt. The way light and shadow appears is amazing. And I recognize the second from the top as Carol’s of Postcards from Panama, correct? It’s so colorful. I’ve been in a quilting lull, so perhaps seeing these will inspire me to get going again!

  5. Lani Longshore says:

    Yes, the teapot quilt is fabulous! I also like the first one in the row of quilts without IDs. My challenge group project is checkerboard, and wouldn’t I love to have something like that to share!

  6. debmoyes says:

    You like all the bright ones I see….no surprise there. Thanks for sharing these great quilts. I can’t wait to see what you like at Houston…..

  7. Val says:

    The quilts were ever so lovely. this year. QuiltFest just gets better and better.
    Thanks to Carol [from Panama] for sending her quilt – a beauty!
    Thank you, quiltfever – – – for displaying both of your quilts so lovingly made, and taking these pics. Whatever will they do for next year’s QuiltFest?
    quiltfever, we will look forward to your news from Houston.

  8. sartenada says:

    Wow, these are gorgeous. I visit every time in Quilt shows when I see it.

    Maybe You might to see how we in Finland are quilting.

    Quilts made in Finland

    Happy quilting!

Leave a Reply

