Honorable Mention winner at QuiltFest

I enter quilts in QuiltFest Jacksonville because it is fun.  I never really expect to win anything.  But this year after judging I got a call to inform me I won an Honorable Mention in the Large Pieced category.

I almost fell out of my chair.   But it is a great feeling.  I only wish I could have shared the news with Jules.  The first day of the show I decided to wear his chemo hat for a photo so he would be included in my celebration.  One of my friends saw the photo and thought I was growing my hair!

In case you missed the process posts of this quilt, it is completely hand pieced and hand quilted (by me).  Finding the proper border was a story in itself.  But I don’t think I ever showed a picture of the label.  Photo on left also shows the hanging sleeve.  I will post photos of some other show quilts soon.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand piecing, hand quilting, quilt shows, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Honorable Mention winner at QuiltFest

  1. Lisa says:

    So exciting!! Congrats to you. I love the label. I need to make mine more interesting like yours. I’m sure Jules is smiling down on you and sharing in your joy. oxo

  2. ali says:

    Hurray! You go, girl! I’m not surprised at all–this quilt is beyond gorgeous. Jules’ is in every stitch, and the hat is the icing on the cake. Bravo, Carol! I am doing a happy, happy dance for you.

  3. ali says:

    “presence”–Jules’ presence is in every stitch, as is your love.

  4. debmoyes says:

    Yippee!!! Good for you! The honorable mention is well deserved – I wonder how many hand pieced & hand quilted quilts there were! Do you plan to use this quilt? (Does it get cold in Jacksonville???) I am sure your DH was smiling…..

  5. Lani Longshore says:

    Congratulations! And what a wonderful way to include Jules.

  6. Lynda says:

    Wow…hand pieced and hand quilted! Congrats on the honorable mention. Great way to include Jules in your celebration.

  7. jennyklyon says:

    Wahoo-congratulation! I’m glad your Jules was there.

  8. wayne rhodes says:

    Carol: A truly beautiful piece!

  9. Liz says:

    I am thrilled for you. Your quilt is a work of art and definitely deserves a mention wherever it goes. Congratulations.

    PS. It is bigger than I realised.

  10. Congratulations! How exciting! I bet Jules would have been so proud – well done!

  11. Congratulations! You certainly deserve it. Lovely work!

  12. Carol says:

    Jules would have indeed been proud of you. He was certainly there in spirit – we talked about him so often during those three days. As Ali commented he was there in every stitch – and always will be. It is a very special quilt.

    Sam and I arrived safely last night and today it’s back to work on my Quiltfest 2012 entries!

  13. onitta says:

    Gilly, this quilt winning a prize is a good beginning for the autumn. The colors will take us right through November. Beautiful photo of the quilter.
    OH

  14. Ann Marie says:

    Congratulations. The quilt is beautiful. The Jacksonville show is very nice — I went several times when I lived in Florida — so that’s an impressive award!

  15. piecedgoods says:

    How great! The quilt is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

