Sewing room organization mania

When I was in Atlanta recently, my friend Donna took me to Ikea to look for a fabric storage system.  I found something I liked but when we got to the end of the store and looked at the size of the box, I was not sure it would fit in my car so I put the decision on hold.  After returning to Jacksonville, my friend Pat said I should look at Lowe’s and Home Depot before deciding.  Looked both places and decided on a Cubeicals storage unit from Lowe’s and 6 colored fabric drawers.  It was easy to put together and fits perfectly under the windows in my sewing room.

I have blues and purples in the blue drawer, pinks and reds in the pink, yellows and oranges in yellow, neutrals and lights in tan, greens and turquoise in green and browns, darks and multi-colors in dark brown.  I managed to get most (but not all) of my fabric stored in this little unit.  I laid a drawer on its front and loaded all the fabric so it would be vertical and easy to find what I am looking for.  Time will tell if this keeps my workspace neater in the future.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in quilting, storage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sewing room organization mania

  1. Lisa says:

    Looks like the perfect solution. Love the color coordinated drawers! Don’t you just love organizing all of it? Of course keeping it that way is the challenge.

  2. Liz says:

    So, you must buy large quantities of fabric. Well, not fat quarters, anyway. Are they half yards or more? The organisation is impressive. I don’t know how you had the fabric stored before and I like the coloured drawers better than the Ikea solution too.

  3. Ali says:

    I love this–it’s bright and cheery and it even looks like a quilt itself at first glance!

  4. wayne rhodes says:

    Fabulous idea! thanks for sharing.

  5. Lani Longshore says:

    Brilliant! Send this in to all the quilt magazines!

  6. Nifty! Don’t you love that feeling of being freshly organized?

  7. Ann Marie says:

    Great idea. I have a mess in my closet I need to organize, and I wouldn’t have thought to look at Lowe’s for a solution.

  8. What beautiful organization! I LOVE it!

  9. How organised are you now?!?! Well done – looks great. Love the fact that it was “almost all” of your fabric in this organiser – a girl after my own heart!!

  10. debmoyes says:

    Good for you with your tidy system! I do hope it works for you. I know it wouldn’t for me; I would pull things out of the drawers in a messy way; I need open shelves… I am getting ready to go through my fabrics as well. Do you have any “wants”? I can hand deliver them to you pretty soon! ;-D

Leave a Reply

