Slow learner part 2

After all four sides of the border were attached, I got out the batting I meant to use–Mountain Mist Cream Rose 100% cotton.  It was too short in width by 2 inches.  So I got out a 108 x 93 Quilter’s Dream 70/30 blend and trimmed large amounts off two sides.  Pin basted and was running a basting stitch around the edge when I discovered a large wrinkle.  Unpinned, smoothed bottom left corner, re-pinned and finished basting.

My hybrid quilting plan was to machine stitch horizontally and diagonally through the colored star centers and then do some hand quilting in the light stars.  I sewed my first seam through the middle row.  I should have known (several steps back) that this was a horrible plan.  There was no way this was ever going to look OK on the back.

What to do now?  My mom happened to be at my house so I had a consultant.  I got out the 108″ backing I had planned to Shibori dye and we decided it was a better option than my pieced backing.  I also started thinking about my quilting plan and decided to do 100% hand quilting instead of my hybrid plan.  Off to the store for a  Mountain Mist Quilt-Light poly batting.


Now it’s re-basted and ready to go on my quilt frame.  I’ve picked apart the pieced backing and put those fabrics back into my stash.  I even plan to re-join the pieces I trimmed from the Quilter’s Dream batting so I can use it for a large quilt later.  Lessons learned.  I think I’m on the right track now!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand piecing, hand quilting, machine quilting, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Slow learner part 2

  1. Ann Marie says:

    I’m impressed that you kept at it until you got it the way you wanted it. So much work, but you would have regretted it later if you hadn’t corrected it. It’s such a lovely top. It deserves the extra work.

  2. Carol says:

    Glad to hear that you are finally on the right track. I actually really like the light cream backing. and the quilting will show up beautifully.

  3. This will be a beautiful finish! The colors are lovely and I am imagine the real-life size and scope are breathtaking. You are certain to find another application for the “learning” material. Or, you now have another excuse to start a new project.

  4. Lisa says:

    Perseverance! You are a better woman than I, but then you spent so much time hand piecing the top, it just has to be perfect! I’m glad you will hand quilt it too, what a treasure this quilt will be. Can’t wait to see the progress. ox

  5. Val says:

    Agree with all of the above [comments]. I admire your determination and that you strive for perfection. Can hardly wait to see your finished beauty.

  6. Ali says:

    This is a great example of try, try, try again. When I read your first paragraph, I thought, great plan (just as you probably did in the beginning). It’s a magnificent top, and it will be a beautiful quilt. I like the hybrid quilting idea–that may just be a method that gets me to engage in hand-quilting someday.

  7. For those of us who are even slower learners, I’m not sure I understand what the lesson learned is. Surely it is not to avoid pieced backs, is it. Remember to speak your answer very slowly!

  8. Lani Longshore says:

    Mercy, you put me to shame! You’re right, of course – Plan B will a gorgeous quilt, and well worth the effort.

  9. Liz says:

    You are the ultimate perfectionist. I know this is going to a masterpiece upon completion. I would love to be as focussed and determined as you are.

  10. piecedgoods says:

    Ah, the pesky quilting part! Looks to me like you made the right decision! Thanks for taking us through the process as gruesome and frustrating as it probably was at the time

  11. debmoyes says:

    You and I use the same batting for hand quilting! It was what I learned on and it’s so nice and thin to quilt through. I just dug up a quilt from years and years ago and it’s all pinned and ready to quilt. The batting feels like it’s cotton and I’m going to take it out….. cotton is too heavy ti hand quilt nad can be too heavy to machine quilt, if it’s a large quilt. Glad your Mom was there to help!

Leave a Reply

