Slow learner I guess–part 1

Not my happiest quilting tale-but plenty of PROCESS.


I really enjoyed hand piecing these tumbling stars.  While I was working on them, I started experimenting with dyeing because I was seeing such lovely snow-dyed mandalas on several blogs and wanted one for the backing for this quilt.  Even though I ordered special colors of dye, I never got up the nerve to possibly ruin 3 yards of 108″ fabric.  So I decided to order some Kona solids to combine with fabrics from the quilt into a pieced backing.  A few picked seams/adjustments later, my result was not thrilling but OK to proceed (photo on right).  Ignore the bump–it’s the edge of my area rug.




I should have added my borders before cutting/stitching my backing (see beginning photo) as it did not turn out large enough to accommodate my planned 5″ double border.  But that worked OK since the dark outer fabric I had in mind was too overpowering for the quilt top.  I decided on a 2.5″ finished border with the dark for binding (photo shows 2″ strip which was original planned inner border).



I was reluctant to trim the edge diamonds before stitching so I sewed a basting stitch with the border side up.  When that didn’t hit the points quite right, I sewed again from the quilt side to hit my seam  ends.  Aargh–not a stellar result.  For side two I marked 1/4″ from seam ends, trimmed, aligned the fabric edges and sewed with quilt top facing up.  Much better.  Picked out side one and did over.



From here, all four sides of the border were attached with relative ease.  But please stay tuned to part 2 for the rest of the disappointing developments and eventual resolutions.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand piecing, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Slow learner I guess–part 1

  1. Lisa Mason says:

    Well at least the process helped you learn the best way to do the borders! I think it looks great, can’t believe there could be a disappoint ahead, but glad there is a good resolve too. Looking forward to seeing how your process helped you out the second time around!

  2. You don’t do anything easy, do you? And you sure have taken the pledge process quite seriously. There’s are the two things that I’m constantly telling myself! In the end, this is going to be beautiful. So when will you start dyeing?

  3. Lani Longshore says:

    Sounds like you learned pretty fast to me. The quilt has a lot to teach you, that’s all. It’s sad but true – the reward for being an outstanding student is more work!

  4. Onitta says:

    Beautiful as always. I still struggle with that replacing a button thing. OH

  5. That’s a really pretty quilt. i love the effect of some of the centres being light and some dark.

  6. Carol says:

    I recognize some of those fabrics! That is the coolest pattern – depending on your focus you see stars, blocks or hexagons. Isn’t this the ugly fabric quilt? Individually some of the fabric was definitely not very attractive – but they play very well together – it is gorgeous!

  7. Ali says:

    “Slow learner (ing)” would be a great name for a blog–like slow food, for instance. It’s a good thing! I’m constantly amazed by your patience and attention to detail. As you learn, so do I! This quilt is so, so beautiful.

  8. debmoyes says:

    Two steps forward, one step back….sometimes the creative process goes like this!

  9. Val says:

    Looking forward to part 2…..meanwhile i want to also state that your patience and meticulous piecing is stellar!

    Just love the secondary patterns on your Tumbling Blocks.

    Happy Quilting To All.

  10. Liz says:

    I can’t believe you were so considered in the backing. That is where I just rush the process. It looks just lovely and of course, well worth the extra effort. As for the border, well … it looks great to me. In quilting, sometimes the longest road is the quickest. Can’t wait to see what happens next.

  11. piecedgoods says:

    What I see looks just gorgeous to me! You’re your own hardest critic – But I guess a lot of us quilter are! I love hearing about the process and knowing that I’m not the only one out there seam ripping. Looking forward to part 2!

Leave a Reply

