Mom’s rectangle quilts


Before Jules’ illness, we traveled quite a bit.  When we were away, I liked to leave my mom with a project to occupy her time in our absence.  I would cut and press while she sewed.  Then I would baste the quilt sandwich together for her to hand quilt.  She had large amounts of several fabrics so we specifically looked for some two-color patterns.  The above quilt is one of my favorite rectangle quilts which we created together from Successful Scrap Quilts from Simple Rectangles by Judy Turner and Margaret Rolfe.

The one below was made to brighten up her bedroom in winter.  We used a thicker batting for it.  We actually ran out of the orange interior fabric so there is one rectangle missing in each corner.  I guess I should have looked for a similar fabric to fill that space but I’m sure I was working with a deadline.  Too late now and it looks great on her bed anyway.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in family and friends, hand quilting, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mom’s rectangle quilts

  1. Ali says:

    These are lovely, Carol. The cool colors are soothing and peaceful. Lucky Mom, to have a daughter like you!

  2. Lisa Mason says:

    What a nice picture of your mom! The quilt is lovely, and I can’t believe it is all hand quilted. That is quite an accomplishment. I think you are both lucky to have each other. ox

  3. Carol says:

    What cute pictures of your Mom. She looks so tiny covered up by that huge quilt. You’ve made a a lot of pretty quilts from that book. I’d love to make the one on the book cover called Spectrum – using all of my batiks.

  4. Liz says:

    I especially like the pattern of the top quilt. It is so nice that your mom happily quilts now. I hope I can look forward to that sort of consideration from my daughters later.

  5. debmoyes says:

    My mother and I did all sorts of crafts together – but – quilting! I never understood why, but she wasn’t interested. She was a great admirer and supporter though, like a good Mom!

  6. Lynda says:

    What a lovely picture of your Mom and the quilt is wonderful. I love 2 color quilts….they seem so restful. You are lucky to both be interested in quilting. My Mom started my love for it several years ago. We would set up a quilt in my basement family room and quilt on it for days and days and days while my kids played underneath it. I really miss being able to share my quilts with her.

  7. Onitta says:

    Hello Gilly, Beautiful quilt and lady.
    Love,
    OH

  8. Val says:

    Thank you for letting us see your Mom’s fabulous hand quilting.
    Who did the hand quilting first, you or your Mom?
    Always loved the two fabric quilts & rectangular settings.
    Show us some more, soon.

  9. annjrippin says:

    I love the way that such a simple shape can produce such a lovely pattern. Is the quilt reversible? Your mum looks nice too!

  10. I would have never noticed the “missing” rectangles. I assumed that was part of the plan.

Leave a Reply

