Quilting friends to the rescue

It has been 6.5 weeks since I lost my sweetheart.  There has been much to do and little interest in quilting.  But my friend Carol went through her large stash and gave me many additions for the project that has been languishing on my design wall.  And now that most of my tasks are done or underway, I am finding it relaxing to cut some new pieces (bottom row) in the evenings.  Thank you Carol for this this gift of renewed inspiration.

Another quilt blogger friend Liz from Australia is attending the Houston show and has coaxed me into going.  At first I felt it was too much to deal with but I decided by November I will need something wonderful to do and what could be more perfect than a quilt show which I hear is fabulous.  Another friend Deb from Chicago is also attending and has helped me through the pre-registration decisions.  I am looking forward to meeting them both in person.  If any of my other dear readers are planning to be there, please let me know!  I would love to meet you too.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in Circle within Circle, family and friends, hand piecing, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Quilting friends to the rescue

  1. rutheh says:

    Sounds like a wonderful trip.
    Thinking of you and happy to read your post today

  2. Lisa says:

    Carol, so glad you are sewing again! I know you will have a wonderful trip to Houston, something so lovely to look forward to. Tiny steps. Love what you are working on right now. ox

  3. debmoyes says:

    Like I said, I can’t wait to hug you! Got my classes confirmed yesterday, so I am all set. Hope you’ve e-mailed your form as well. It should be a Great distraction!!!

  4. Ali says:

    My heart sang when I saw this new post from you! This colors remind me of cotton candy at the fair, and the soft, curved pattern reinforces that image–it’s lovely, Carol. You’ll have a great time in Huston this fall; good work, Liz and Deb!

  5. Liz says:

    Oh so excited to be going to Houston. Even better, a chance to meet in the flesh. I am looking forward to it so much and I am thrilled to hear that you are too.

  6. The support of the blogging community is just amazing, isn’t it? I know your “new normal” is difficult, and I’m glad to see this entry!

  7. Oh, I wish I would be in Houston, BUT, if you want to fly through Salt Lake and have a rest,I would love to spend time with you. You would always be welcome.

  8. Lis says:

    I hope you have a lovely time in Houston and you’ll be with friends which is so wonderful. Thinking of you.

  9. annjrippin says:

    Really looking forward to hearing about Houston. It really is supposed to be quite something. My only problem with quilt shows is that I want to dash straight home and start stitching rather than taking the time to be with other people’s work. I think it’s a bit like musicians who can’t sit still at concerts! Lucky you, though. A

Leave a Reply

