Thanks so much

I took my sister to the airport today so this will be my first night in the house alone.  Before she left, we started auditioning fabrics for the backing of my tumbling stars quilt.  I wanted a second opinion and I wanted to have something positive to think about as I embark on the journey ahead.  More on my pieced backing later.

For now I just want to tell all my wonderful online friends thank you so much for all your kind words and for keeping me in your thoughts and prayers.  It has helped so much feeling this sense of community with women I have never met but who are so dear to me.

Today I received this lovely shopping bag (front and back photos) made by my friend Donna.  She had talked her friend Wayne into gifting her the scraps from his beautiful quilt so she introduced me to a new blogger as well.  Thanks Donna.  I’m sure I will be an envied shopper!



Also, look at this hand embroidered card that Ali made and sent a few days ago.  Thanks for such a special card Ali.  (Sorry I could not get the flash to work.)

I am aiming to find my way back to my sewing room now that all my visitors have left so hopefully I will have something of my own to post soon.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in family and friends, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thanks so much

  1. rutheh says:

    Good to read your words today.
    The bag is lovely.
    Glad your sister was with you.
    So sorry for your loss.
    Xxoo Ruth

  2. Lisa says:

    Can’t wait to see what you start producing from that sewing room! Hope your first night alone went okay. It’ll get a little easier each day. oxo

  3. Welcome back to blogland, Carol. I’m thinking of you.

  4. debmoyes says:

    Hope you’re doing okay alone & that each day is a tiny bit easier.

  5. Glad you’re back on line. Hope all is going ok. Looking forward to pictures of tumbling stars/backing. Thinking of you.

  6. Lis says:

    In my prayers.

  7. Carol E. says:

    I saw your comment at Postcards from Panama and thought it was funny to see so many Carols there… I’m Carol, also. So I had to come visit your blog. I’m so sorry about your loss… I am happily married (36 years this August) and can imagine the enormity of your loss. I’m glad to hear you had a lot of help and love surrounding you. Now comes the adjustment to being alone… may the quilting bring you some peace and comfort. That bag is gorgeous, by the way!

  8. wayne rhodes says:

    Hi Carol: I am the “Wayne” that Donna M. mentioned in relation to the morsbags. I really like the work that you do, and the name of your site (much more creative than mine!). I know you are going through a very difficult time, but it sounds like you have lots of great friends to support you. Going to the Houston show is a great idea. It’s on my “to do” list. Did you see the movie “Stitched”? If not, please try to watch it before you go. And please email me so we can chat about all things quilts!

Leave a Reply

