Sad news

Till now I have not shared the three-year battle of my husband’s cancer on this blog.  He never wavered in his determination but the last few months had become increasingly challenging.  He passed away Thursday morning, June 2.  I am relieved that he has found peace.  Now that half of me is gone, there are many matters demanding my attention so I wanted a chance to explain the absence of my comments on your blogs and the lack of posts on mine.  I promise I will return as soon as I am able.

We had a full and wonderful life together and I am trying to focus on being grateful rather than sad.  My mom is staying with me now and providing great support.  Jules’ son and daughter and my sister will be arriving soon.  I am also blessed with some very dear friends.  My mom says the girlfriend who stayed with us the final two days is more angel than friend.  I feel fortunate to be surrounded by so much love during this emotionally charged and busy time.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in family and friends, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sad news

  1. rutheh says:

    I am sorry to hear this sad news. I send you sympathy and prayers via wordpress and from my heart. Glad you have friends and family with you to hold you up and be there beside you as you grieve.
    love from Pittsburgh
    Ruth

  2. Liz says:

    My thoughts are with you, Carol. Come back to us when you are ready.

  3. Lani Longshore says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. Please be kind to yourself. I’m glad you are letting friends and family help you, and hope that very soon you will be filled with only the love and good memories. I will keep you and yours in my prayers.
    Love,
    Lani

  4. Lynda says:

    I am so sorry to hear of this sad time. I’m glad you have family and friends to help you and be with you right now. I’m sure you have lots of good memories to help you also. I will be looking forward to your return to the blogging world.

  5. Lisa says:

    Carol, I am so sorry to hear of your husband’s passing. I’m glad you have loved ones around you now, they will be of great comfort to you. Keep a little busy, give yourself all the love and time you need. Please know that I am thinking of you and sending you only love and good thoughts. oxo

  6. Stacey says:

    My heart and prayers go to you for your healing and for your husband for his journey. We’ll be here waiting when it’s time to come back.

  7. Auntie Em says:

    My deepest, deepest condolences on your loss. So very sorry to hear of your husband’s passing.

  8. I’m saddened to hear of your loss. May you be blessed with the strength to go on and live a full meaningful life. It is such a difficult time for you now and my prayers go out for you and your family.
    Etty

  9. Oh, Carol, I’m so sorry to read this. You have my deepest sympathies.
    Hugs, Cathi

  10. jennyklyon says:

    So sorry to hear about your loss. My prayers go out to you as you go through this.

  11. Dear Carol, I am thinking of you. May memories of your life with Jules’ be a comfort to you in this time of deep sorrow and loss. With friendship and prayers, Ali

  12. P.S. Thank you for sharing these wonderful photos. You must have great stories about your many adventures together.

  13. Thank you, Carol, for sharing – how hard this post must have been. I hope you feel all the love and support that’s being sent your way. As you grieve, I know you’ll think often about the fabulous times you shared and that these memories will be of comfort. You have obviously had great comfort in your quilting. May it continue to be so.

  14. Fran says:

    What a lovely tribute to your husband. My condolences.

  15. Carol. My heart goes out to you at the loss of your husband and best friend. May you find yourself wrapped in the quilt of his love- a patchwork of your joys and sorrows together- as you face the days ahead.

  16. Ann Marie says:

    I am so sorry. Will keep you both in my thoughts and prayers.

  17. Lis says:

    Thank you for sharing those wonderful smiling photos. I am really sorry to read of your loss. You sound surrounded by love which will help but there will be awful times. You are in my prayers and I send my sincere condolences.

  18. Oh Carol, I’m so sorry to hear your sad news. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

  19. I am very sorry to hear of your loss.

  20. piecedgoods says:

    I’m so sorry. Thank you for sharing… This must have been a hard post to write. It is lovely that you shared this with such happy pictures and memories. My thoughts are with you!

  21. debmoyes says:

    Oh Carol, I am so sad to hear your news. I was about to send you a private e-mail to see what was up. I was thinking you might be on vacation and I so wish that had been the case. Take care of your self…..

  22. Ann says:

    I am so sorry to hear your news. It sounds like you had a wonderful life together. And I am so glad that you have had such great support from family and friends. I hope your extended quilt family is some comfort too. I will be thinking of you.

Leave a Reply

