Kaleidoscope finish

All done except for the last stitching on the sleeve.  I wanted to get these photos while the sun was in a good spot.

My machine quilting was rather simplistic and it is hard to see in the photos.  I stitched in the ditch around three rings of center hexagons.  Then I followed star points although since many seams were pressed open, there was not a ditch to stitch in.  I picked outside or inside and tried to stay consistent.  For the corner wedges, I just drew a five-point star for continuous stitching.  The one in the photo still has the blue marker lines for easier viewing.




Overall, I am tickled pink (and orange) with how it turned out.  I plan to hang it in our master bedroom–even though it won’t coordinate with anything in there!  I’m struggling to name it though.  Any suggestions?

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in kaleidoscope quilt, machine quilting, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Kaleidoscope finish

  1. Vicki W says:

    That’s really pretty! I love the bright colors.

  2. This is beyond beautiful! It sparkles–really twinkles–with color, energy, and life. The quilting is perfect for this piece. As for a name, that’s usually your forte’, but “Jewels” immediately comes to mind (or garden jewels, blossoming jewels). This reminds me of glittering rubies and emeralds or Chinese colored pearls–all things precious and special. Wonderful work! As always, I’m inspired by your artistic vision and skilled handwork.

  3. rutheh says:

    Just beautiful!

  4. Lisa says:

    Oh Carol it came out beautifully! I just love the colors. What a wonderful quilt to hang in your master, so you can gaze at it all the time.

  5. jennyklyon says:

    Fabulous!! Now I understand how the fabric choices impact the design of the quilt-it really vibrates and radiates beautifully yet its peaceful to look at-brilliant use of fabric and color. Wow!

  6. Auntie Em says:

    Simply Stunning!

  7. Liz says:

    It is a winner, and the border is just right. What about “Fruit Tingles”? Do you have that lolly (candy) over there?

  8. Lani Longshore says:

    Wow! Looks like mangoes and mint to me.

  9. Ann Marie says:

    Naming is often the hardest part! Love the border. It really complements the rest of the quilt.

  10. debmoyes says:

    Yummy! I love o,p,g combination. I begged my mother to crochet bed covers for my room mate and I in college in those colors. We had a very dark room and the colors sang. Hmmmm… Mango Salsa, something sorbet …. I like to name my quilts and it bothers me when I can’t think of a name. Spent yesterday at the V&A looking at a show about The Aesthetic Movement – wonderful!

  11. Lynda says:

    Your quilt is amazing. I hope some day to finish mine too. I need to make another one now that I have a little more idea of how to pick the fabrics, sew and iron etc.

  12. Linda says:

    You should name it “Tickled Pink and Orange”
    Linda

  13. Lovely – and my 3 favorite colors together too!

  14. piecedgoods says:

    This is just terrrific finished up. The colors are just marvelous! I’m so glad we made kaleidoscopes together! Onward!

  15. Vero says:

    Very, very beautiful! You did a great work.

Leave a Reply

