Bloggers’ Quilt Festival

It’s my first time entering this wonderful online festival–Blogger’s Quilt Festival–which Amy’s Creative Side puts on twice a year.  Woo-hoo, here goes!

I have not posted about this quilt before. It was finished before I started blogging and although I have slowly been documenting my quilting history between current posts, I have not gotten to this quilt yet.  I decided in late 2009 I wanted to enter a quilt in the next QuiltFest Jacksonville annual show.  My goal was not a ribbon, just not to embarrass myself.  I wanted something a little more complex than my usual fare.  Star Patch which I found on Marcia Hohn’s Quilters Cache seemed just the ticket.  I should have known it was going to be a challenge when I had to teach myself paper piecing.  My intent when I started was a queen size quilt.  It’s much smaller than that but at least it got finished.

My self-taught paper piecing was not so bad.  But when it came time to put the blocks together, it became a nightmare.  As my machine got to the red corner points, the bulky seam just slipped right out from under the presser foot.  After a few tries I decided I would add the tiny sashing shown in this photo.


My quilty friend Carol said that would ruin the design.  I knew she was right.  My next thought was just to throw it all in the trash and find another pattern.  After mulling it over, I decided maybe a new sewing machine would help.  I treated myself to a Pfaff 2058.  Man, do I ever wish I had done that years earlier.  Because it has an integrated dual feed (IDT), I even tried machine quilting for the first time on a few small projects.  When I finally got this top together, I decided to do hybrid quilting.  I machine quilted around the blocks and added hand quilting.  I tried to find a design that would avoid all the bulky seams and still enhance the overall lines of the quilt.  I decided on overlapping circles.




I’m sure the border quilting design has a name.  I just used my circle template to make alternating half circles.




I was pleased with the finished quilt which I named Celestial Dreams because of the stars in both the design and in several of the fabrics.  It WAS entered in the show–so much more exciting being a participant rather than just a spectator.  I’m planning another entry for the 2011 show in September.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand quilting, machine quilting, paper piecing, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Bloggers’ Quilt Festival

  1. Great job! What a charming patriotic quilt, scrappy yet pulled together. Kudos for figuring out paper piecing on your own.

  2. Ann Marie says:

    Love your quilt. The right tools really make the difference. I just bought some rulers for cutting stars like this, and I might have to give this pattern a try. Although I don’t think I can use it as an excuse for a new sewing machine.

  3. Anne says:

    Doesn’t a good sewing machine make a big difference? Your quilt turned out beautifully. I love seeing a quilt where so much effort has been put in.

  4. Carla says:

    Definitely a labor of love. It was worth all that hard work because your quilt is amazing!

  5. val s. says:

    It is wonderful to see all of the beautifully displayed quilts. Every year the show just evolves into a brighter, bigger and better production.
    Also, there is a deserved sense of pride in the sharing of one’s artistic creation(s). The display photo adds to the sentimental and documented value. Last but not least, we also receive an analysis by a certified judge.
    Thank you for being an inspiration to me. My Quilt Fest 2011 entry just needs the binding and a sleeve. It would not have been an entry without your welcome nudge.

  6. Beautiful work ! now I want a Pfaff machine like you have ! (I have a Janome and am happy with it ; it’s a $400 machine and sews well ; but since starting quilting last year I think I am ready for a quilting machine ! ) I have most of my quilting done by a longarmer , so I’d be saving money doing it myself ! (can you tell I’m talking myself into a pricey machine ???? ) Thanks for sharing !

  7. rutheh says:

    Just beautiful. A work of art and hard work paid off for sure. Something to be proud of.
    Congratulations! The new machine sounds like a dream.

  8. Karen says:

    I do admire you taking on paper piecing. I have not gone there yet! Your quilt looks wonderful. I love the colours and the fabrics you have used. Great work with the quilting, too!

  9. Lisa Mason says:

    You have another beautiful quilt there! I love the way it makes circles around the stars. You are such a wonderful quilter!

  10. Michelle says:

    It is gorgeous. Your patience paid off. I love the circle quilting.

  11. Cathy McMann says:

    Three years ago, I replaced my 30-year-old sewing machine with a new Bernina and had an experience similar to your’s – wow, do I wish I had done it sooner! Everything is so much easier on the new “sewing computer.”

    Impresssive quilt, I like the look of curves formed by the two blocks.

  12. This is gorgeous! I love the way the stars are shaded to make them twinkle. Your attention to detail and amazing sense of color makes this a rich and complex design. Wow!

  13. It’s good you took your time to figure how best to put this one together (and yes, a good sewing machine really does help, doesn’t it), because it really sparkles. Your choice and placement of fabrics make it very dynamic. Love it. 🙂

  14. Very beautiful quilt. I really like the quilting.

  15. Vicki W says:

    That’s a beautiful quilt!

  16. Karen says:

    That is a beautiful quilt. I have not had the patience to learn paper pieceing yet, but wish I could because I have seen so many beautiful patterns using it. You did a fabulous job on this one! The quilting of circles was a good choice, too.

  17. Dolores TJ says:

    I love paper piecing and this is a wonderful example. Thanks for sharing your process for quilting it too.

  18. eileen says:

    what a great quilt–love how it flows. thanks so much for sharing your fun story of its progress. have a great day!

  19. jo says:

    That is a stunning quilt and I love you hand quilting. Well done for persevering!

  20. Chris says:

    Beautiful. I love the scrappiness of it 🙂

  21. Lis says:

    What a lot of learning from one quilt and what a stunning result, I don’t think I would have persevered as you did, well done.

  22. Janet says:

    Your quilt is so pretty – and good for you for persevering. I don’t know that the strips in between would have looked so bad – that’s what I did to fix my quilt.

  23. Kristen says:

    Beautiful patriotic quilt. Nice hand quilting too!!

  24. Sara says:

    Glad you didn’t throw that masterpiece away! It looks great and BOY do we ever learn from our quilting mishaps– don’t we!! Thanks for sharing!

  25. Dewberry Lane says:

    What a beauty! Glad you finished her properly and you got a new toy in the process!! 🙂

    Cheers!
    Rachel
    http://www.dewberrylane.com

  26. piecedgoods says:

    So lovely! I especially like the way the values of the two star blocks combine to give the straight lines a circular feel! And I’ll have to check out the Blogger’s quilt festival too!

  27. Penny G says:

    Love the name and the patience this must have taken leaves me in awe of you. Great quilt.

  28. Lesly says:

    Wonderful work! I love the way the circular effect pops out!

  29. Linda says:

    Great quilt! Aren’t you glad you stuck with it!

  30. Liz says:

    I’m glad you kept on going with this quilt when so many of us would have given up. The story behind the quilt is so interesting. It sounds like this quilt took you on a real journey. Congratulations.

  31. Allie says:

    This is stunning! What a gorgeous quilt, so glad you persevered [and got a new machine to boot!]. Love it!

  32. miki says:

    Beautiful quilt! Thank you for sharing your process for this quilt. I always enjoy reading how other quilters work through their design decisions, as well as how they overcome problems as they crop up.

  33. kelley says:

    Love the hand-quilting – awesome quilt! Great job! I’m glad you stuck with it.

  34. Kelli says:

    Great quilt!
    Gotta love new machines hey? 🙂

  35. Rachaeldaisy says:

    I love this quilt! I like the circles effect when these blocks are put together. I’m glad you figured out a way of making the pattern work and the bonus is you got a fabulous new machine!

  36. Manda says:

    Fantastic quilt! Quilting is beautiful!

  37. Sally says:

    It’s a beautiful piece! Thanks so much for sharing your process too. Your hand quilting is gorgeous!

  38. Kit says:

    You’re very brave to figure out paper pieceing on your own. Lovely quilt!

  39. Teresa says:

    Boy this quilt is beautiful! I’m glad you didn’t throw it away! Its really stunning! Thanks for sharing.

  40. fortquilt says:

    Beautiful quilt. I would never have guessed you had any trouble putting the blocks together. I love the optical illusion of curves.

  41. Becky says:

    Well, it’s a quite a pretty quilt and you did a good job for teaching yourself paper-piecing.

    I think the quilting is equally pretty and well-planned.

  42. Cecily says:

    Love this quilt – it’s really pretty!

  43. Your quilt is lovely! I have had so much fun looking through all the quilts… what a wonderful way of sharing our work with each other.
    Look forward to seeing more of your work 🙂

  44. Very nice quilt, particularly how clever you were in working towards a solution. The “buy a sewing machine” solution might be my favorite. That one will be filed away to be used someday. 🙂

  45. marg says:

    I just tried your solution as well and although i am not up to your standard yet, Love your quilt, it is easier with with my new pfaff

  46. Hollie says:

    Oooh. I love the hand quilting you added!

  47. barb says:

    great quilt! wonderful hand quilting!

  48. Audrey says:

    I am glad you persevered because it turned out so beautiful! Congratulations on the new machine, too; it can make all the difference in being successful it seems.

  49. Norma says:

    this is such a lovely quilt. you did a great job!
    You can see my entry in the Blogger’s Quilt festival here: http://blog.petitdesignco.com/2011/05/bloggers-quilt-festival.html

  50. Cheryl B. says:

    hi 🙂 I followed your link here from Amy’s quilting link up party.

    Scanning down your first page, I see that you are really into quilting. Impressive! I love the colors in the purple one!

    I’m glad you did the close up shots of your pattern, because the whole quilt shot wasn’t easy for me to decipher the pattern from, but that could just be my vertigo issues acting up.

    Last spring I made a quilt for our grand daughter, which I am not linking up seeings how only new postings are allowed. If you would like to see it, you can find it here –> http://thebzhousethatlovebuilt.blogspot.com/2010/06/green-quilt.html

    I think you should dub this quilt your patriotic salute.

  51. Sue says:

    Gorgeous! Good luck with your next entry.

  52. Mama Mel says:

    I love the hand quilting! 🙂

  53. Mary says:

    This is a beautiful quilt. Congratulations!

  54. Pingback: Bloggers' Quilt Festival | Amy's Creative Side

Leave a Reply

