QuiltFest entry # 1

After the weather warmed up, I finished the quilting on Winner’s Bouquet (we were sleeping under it this winter as I only lacked one row of hand quilting) and added the hanging sleeve.  Then I ran it through the washer and dryer for the wrinkling effect.  Except for the label and the required bag, it’s ready for our local quilt show in September.  I keep changing my mind about what I’m going to name it and I have to decide that before I make the label.   Here are a few close ups and a photo of the back.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in curved piecing, hand quilting, machine quilting, quilting, Winner's Bouquet pattern and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to QuiltFest entry # 1

  1. val s. says:

    The quilt is marvelous! We will be eager to see it beautifully displayed at Quilt Fest.

    Thank you for the viewing.

  2. rutheh says:

    just beautiful

  3. Lisa Mason says:

    Beautiful quilt! I love the purples and teals together, one of my favorite combos.

  4. Yes, I echo what Lisa said about the color choice. And wow – your quilting is fabulous! What is your thimble system? What other names are in the running? And I’d love to see the label when you add it.

  5. Liz says:

    What a lot of curved piecing. No wonder you are so good at it. You’ve had plenty of practice. Quilting stitches look perfect and the design is well suited. The pattern is one I love. It’s altogether a very beautiful quilt. Now for a name…what about “My Opia” a little play on words from opus but also relates to the double vision effect?

  6. jennyklyon says:

    Beautiful! Wish I could feel it-the hand quilting must make it so soft and drapeable…

  7. Lynda says:

    Very beautiful….and all those curves! A perfect quilt to chase the blues away.

  8. Carol says:

    It turned out beautifully – and the quilting is perfectly suited to the pattern. I can spot some of the fabrics from my stash 🙂 Isn’t it a nice feeling to have it all ready for the show this far in advance?

  9. debmoyes says:

    Looks nasty to piece; I avoid piecing like that unless it’s by hand. Was it? ;-D Very beautiful quilt!

  10. Lani Longshore says:

    I just returned from Art Quilt Santa Fe and saw your post – wow! Gorgeous! Those are New Mexico sunrise and sunset colors – maybe that could be part of the name?

  11. I just love, love, love these colors together–gorgeous hues! This is so beautiful, Carol. Your quilting is lovely and inspiring (as always).

  12. Gryphie says:

    The 3-D quality of this quilt is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

