Vintage star plan

Here’s my plan for some of the vintage stars.  Pieces are just stuck on the design wall so some places look a little wobbly 🙂  I’m going to try to do something more artsy with the other stars (a few comments from the first post mentioned lace…).  I looked at a lot of reproduction fabrics but decided I needed something which would not compete with all the lovely old prints.  I originally bought two joiner fabrics from my LQS but soon realized I needed another because I wanted to alternate touching colors.  Then I saw a couple of feedsack small prints online and decided to throw them in too.  I have a total of 5 joiner fabrics and will use them as half triangles to fill the edges.




As I’ve been arranging, I have noticed several diamonds that need trimming.  When Alta Hendricks did these stars, there were no rotary cutters and the lighting probably wasn’t so good either.  I’m going to try to trim carefully.  It must be done because little inconsistencies multiply as you start sewing pieces together.  I dread trimming something which is already pieced but I’m excited to get started so I’ll just take a deep breath and get going–tonight!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand piecing, quilting, vintage quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Vintage star plan

  1. rutheh says:

    It is wonderful to see my grandmother’s stars coming to life in your hands Carol.
    They have sat in a bag for DECADES. I think it is an honor to her hard work and handiwork. And now YOUR hard work and handiwork.
    Thanks for taking on the project(s) and for sharing it with the world!

  2. Lisa Mason says:

    Oh how fun! They look wonderful and I like the joiner fabrics you have picked out, they don’t take away from those fabulous stars. You are the perfect person to put this all together!

  3. jennyklyon says:

    It is really pretty-looking forward to seeing it together!

  4. Lynda says:

    It is going to be a stunning quilt! My mom left me with a small shoe box full of baggies filled with the diamond shapes of future stars. No instructions, no filler fabric…just a picture. I’ve had it for years and never done anything with it. I wish I had your abilities and drive to make it into a beautiful quilt.

  5. It’s so hard to 1) work with someone else’s quilting 2) old fabrics. I admire your passion and patience for both. Any plans for this once it’s completed?

  6. Liz says:

    Rather than trimming, why not make a template and outline the stars on the wrong side in pencil. Cutting is so permanent. Great project. I am glad you were trusted with these stars.

  7. Stunning design, Carol! The colors and layout are perfect. Alta Hendricks’ work is so carefully being preserved and crafted in your ever-so-capable, very skilled hands. This is a gift beyond measure. You are truly a mensch.

  8. debmoyes says:

    Gorgeous plan! They really sing in that arrangement.

Leave a Reply

