New project

Except for four little corner pieces, my tumbling stars top is together.  Photo later as I have the vintage stars on my design wall now which I can’t work on since I’m waiting on a couple of additional joiner fabrics I ordered online before I proceed.  So for the first time in ages, I found myself with NO HANDWORK.  What to do?  I started pouring through my books and making piles of possible fabrics from my stash.  Last night I started 8 blocks of Mary Mashuta’s “Circle within Circle” from her book Confetti Quilts.  This morning I went through my neutral bin and pulled 7 candidates with rose, peach, yellow and green that I think will blend OK.  I also pulled 10 more possible fabrics from my general stash.  We’ll see how big this gets.  At least I have something for my after dinner stitching time.  Whew, I was having withdrawals 🙂

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in Circle within Circle, curved piecing, hand piecing, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New project

  1. debmoyes says:

    NOTHING TO WORK ON???? Holy Cow! I have so many UFO’s, though I must admit there is nothing like starting something new….. ;-D

  2. Liz says:

    That book is one of my absolute favourites. Although there aren’t a lot of patterns in it, the author discusses the design variables very comprehensively. I like your colour palette but don’t envy the curved piecing, by machine or hand. I will watch with delight.

  3. Whew…that was a close call. Thank heavens you have a stash! 🙂

  4. Spring is here in these colors! I can almost smell the new grass and early flowers. You have such a great eye for color and design.

  5. Idle hands are the devil’s workshop, eh? No evil in your house!

  6. What a pretty and fun block! Having no hand stitching to do would send me scurrying too!

Leave a Reply

