More dye experiments




Deb introduced me to shibori dyeing.  One of the techniques is folding and dipping.  I am not unhappy with my first attempt.

However, I started these experiments because I thought a snow dyed mandala would look great as a backing for my Tumbling Stars.  Besides the fact that there is no snow in Florida, I quickly decided I probably don’t want to risk a piece of 108″ backing at my skill level.  Now I’m thinking I may over-dye a commercial piece to tone down the green.  I over-dyed with red but the strip on the left got full strength dye whereas the strip on the right was only added to the dye bath after most of the dye was exhausted.  The right strip was more what I was looking for with maybe a smidge more red.  The strip on the bottom is the original color.  The quilt’s filler stars are visible on the left.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand dyes, hand piecing, quilting, tumbling stars and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to More dye experiments

  1. You are so funny with your words: I am not unhappy with the results. Why can’t you/we just say “I like it!” (rhetorical question – don’t bother to explain…) I like the results a lot. It makes me want to do a whole cloth quilt rather than a pieced one.

    Just bought a rotating rotary mat at Joann’s yesterday – 50% off. Now I can start my disappearing 4-patch.

    I hope I don’t catch the dye bug from you…

  2. What a great plan, Carol. Your quilts are all so special, front and back! I’ve tried shibori with mixed results, so I have great respect for the process and the artist. This is a lovely pattern (top image), and the “test” samples are great examples of how varied results can be. Thanks for sharing!

  3. debmoyes says:

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Your dip dyed shibori is stunning! That is a 108″ piece of fabric? Wow. You were brave to jump right in and dye that. I am going to send my students a link to your blog so they can see what a large piece can look like. I’m not sure from your comments- are you going to use it or not?
    Oh- by the way, I finally read about snow dyeing and I am looking forward to doing it next Winter, it’s a lovely look. I do think it is finally Spring here!

  4. Lani Longshore says:

    Oh, yeah, the shibori is great! Even if you aren’t ready to tackle a 108″ backing, you could do several 45″ squares and piece them together. That way, you can say any slight variations are all part of your creative vision (what my techie husband calls turning a bug into a feature).

  5. Lynda says:

    I think it is beautiful! You should see my first attempt (and pretty much my last!) at dying fabric. It was pretty hodgepodge looking with no design at all. It is stuffed into a cupboard patiently waiting for me to do something, anything!, with it.

  6. Susan says:

    I’m one of Debbie’s students, too! I’ ve taken hand piecing, paper piecing, basic blocks, and hand dyeing. I love dying and have taken 3 classes. Your 45″ piece is beautiful and brave. During the winter we live near you.

  7. Liz says:

    How clever that the green fabric didn’t turn to brown with the red dye. What happens with orange overdyeing green? You are the ultimate artist, dyeing the backing fabric. By the time I get to the backing, I will use almost anything just to get it finished.

  8. Lis says:

    Thanks for this link, your shibori experiments are great, love how the folding came out. It seems to be a case of going for it and not quite knowing what’s going to happen – unless you’re a very ancient Japanese shibori master of course and then you’d have it all perfect. Can’t imagine ever reaching that stage myself but I have ordered a couple of books from the library so that’s a start!!

Leave a Reply

