D4P charity quilt finished




My 2011 Disappearing 4-Patch charity quilt (# 3) is completed.  Ali had a question about block size in a previous post.  I started with 5.5 inch squares to make the 4-patch.  Then one inch was cut on both sides of the seams.  That made the center stripes finish at 3/4 inch.  I didn’t have enough fabric to make the size I wanted and I don’t have much blue in my stash.  I found a piece of soft wide denim someone had given me and used that as sashing and backing.  Because it was heaver fabric than what I normally use, I was able to use scraps of poly batting with no problems during the machine quilting.  The quilt finished at 49 x 59 inches.

Also, in a previous post Deb, left a comment about a weaving pattern–Summer and Winter–this quilt reminded her of.  In my 20s and 30s I was a weaver and happened to remember this little piece.  Isn’t it cute?  Today we’d call it a mug rug!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in charity quilts, machine quilting, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to D4P charity quilt finished

  1. This is fabulous! It’s my next pattern for sure. Isn’t necessity the mother of invention. I know this is a charity quilt, but where is it going?

    A buddy of mine in the Chicago Modern Quilt Guild keeps a blog – quilty goodness. I wonder if she knew she was describing you.

    • quiltfever says:

      Donna, this one is going to the Wounded Warrior project. I was afraid it might be a little small for them but I just checked with the coordinator and she said it’s fine. I’m really happy about that.

  2. debmoyes says:

    Very nice and impressively quick! It’s nice to have quick and slow things to work on, isn’t it? I don’t understand people who work on one-project-at-a-time….. Restrained, but soooo boring!

  3. Lynda Brown says:

    Your D4P turned out wonderful. Glad it is going to a good cause.

  4. Lani Longshore says:

    Great quilt! I used this pattern in a class the other day, although I didn’t quite have the right dimensions. Thanks for including them – the next project will be closer to this one.

  5. Lisa Mason says:

    I love the denim backing! Great idea, I’m going to have to try that on a quilt. I like the weightiness of that. Your quilt came out beautifully, I know it will be much loved.

  6. Liz says:

    How quick you are. Piecing AND quilting. That is a great project and it is good that it is going to such a worthy cause.

    I love the woven mug rug. It is interesting to see what hobbies we have forsaken for quilting. Do you still weave at all?

  7. Bravo, Carol! This came out great. Thanks so much for dimensions–it gives me a better “feel” for the quilt. What other weavings do you have to show us from your earlier days? I love both patterns–the quilt and the weaving!

  8. Carol says:

    Love this pattern – I made a disappearing 9 patch a couple of years ago and it didn’t look ANYTHING like yours. I would love to know how you cut the nine patch to get this effect. I didn’t like mine at all and gave it to the quilt group to raffle for our charities. The denim backing is a great idea – the quilting looks so cool on the back.

  9. Very nice finish. Simple or complex, they all feel good when they are done.

  10. piecedgoods says:

    Your quilt looks great! I’m going to have to try this pattern now. (it’s gone viral!) I saw some really neat color combinations in Hawaii this would be perfect for!

  11. annjrippin says:

    Fascinated by how those old ideas settle somewhere in the back of our minds. Congratulations on finishing. Always a lovely feeling.

Leave a Reply

