Ohm moments




It is so nice to have projects in various stages of completion.  I have dug my brown stars out of the pile and spent several evenings on the hand quilting.  Since it is already sewn together, there is very little room for error.  Very relaxing.  Just what the doctor ordered.  My hand quilting is not perfected yet so I often stitch in the ditch because it’s less noticeable.  I’m not anywhere near the 10,000 hours it takes for mastery!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand piecing, hand quilting, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ohm moments

  1. Liz says:

    What! One thousand hours! Forget about ohm, more like OMG. Looks like a nice project. Have you shown it before?

  2. Liz says:

    Sorry, I’ve done it again. Did you mean 10,000 hours? Not these days, surely.

  3. jennyklyon says:

    I understand the 10,000 concept, but dang, whatever hours you are at look pretty darn good!

  4. Thanks so much for these pictures–I am learning so much from you. This process does indeed look meditative to me, and the colors are so earthy and soothing. Absolutely beautiful.

  5. 10,000 hours adds up one at a time. And, your practice is definitely moving towards perfect.

  6. booksnquilts says:

    I’ve never been a big believer in the 10,000 hours idea. Your stitches look much to nice to hide in the ditch! Give yourself permission to do the quilting design you want. I do agree that there is something very soothing about the rhythm of hand quilting. And I really like the softer appearance it gives a quilt.

  7. I agree… beautiful stitches….don’t hide them!

Leave a Reply

