Entertainment and seam ripping

Did you ever have one of these days?  I made several like the photo on the left.  I had to laugh (I’m easily entertained) but after the more attached mistake, I decided I needed a break from sewing.  At least I saw that big error before it was quilted!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in charity quilts, machine quilting, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Entertainment and seam ripping

  1. Hum…it does make a great frame for your (still-smiling) face! And yes, I’ve had lots and lots and lots of similar experiences. Recently. A couple hours ago. It’s nice to have the company of such an accomplished quilter!

  2. Lisa Mason says:

    I certainly have those days! And I usually need to stop and take a break too. Read a book, go for a walk. Stay out of the sewing room until I get the mojo back. 🙂

  3. jennyklyon says:

    uh, that’s NEVER happened to me, giggle!!

  4. Lani Longshore says:

    I am convinced that this is how new patterns evolved.

  5. Lynda says:

    I usually don’t find my mistakes until the top is put together and sometimes quilted. Your lucky you found it early. Looks amazing!

  6. It happens. I have recut a backing three times today because, apparently, I either can’t measure or can’t count. So, I am taking a blog break!

  7. ivoryspring says:

    I agree with Lani! 🙂

  8. Love the last picture. Have I ever had days like that? You betcha. They always seem to happen just as I’m thinking what a good and master quilter I am!!!!!

  9. piecedgoods says:

    Your post made me chuckle! It happens so often to me I consider ripping out to be part of the process of piecing. I’ve gotten quite good at it (the ripping out part) and have good defensive strategies for mistakes…including “I meant to do that”

  10. annjrippin says:

    I took a class where the tutor said every mistake is an opportunity for embellishment, which I have always found comforting.

Leave a Reply

