2011 charity quilt # 3 started




I had this blue fabric called “Running Eights” in my stash.  It is 8 different patterns printed across the width of the yardage.  I bought it thinking it might work in my blue and yellow hexagon star but decided not to use it in that project.  Then my mom gave me some red strips with blue flowers that she had originally used to sash my big bang quilt top, decided she didn’t like the colors, ripped it out and replaced with black.

I had seen Lynda’s Disappearing 4-Patch because I was following her progress on a Kaleidoscope.  I thought the D4P would be a great charity quilt with my blue and red fabrics.  Here are the first finished blocks.  It’s pretty simple unless your brain needs a break.  Tomorrow,  photos of why I’m giving my poor little confused head a rest.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in charity quilts, machine quilting, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 2011 charity quilt # 3 started

  1. I love that! I hadn’t seen a D4P that looks fun!

  2. Lynda says:

    Don’t you love the D4P? It is so easy and looks so good. Of course, I’m looking forward to what happened to yours since your brain needs a break.

  3. Lisa Mason says:

    I really like the disappearing nine patch, and I have yet to try this one, the four patch. It looks great. Another wonderful charity quilt!

  4. Smashing pattern – may have to “borrow” it!

  5. Lani Longshore says:

    How cute! There was a similar pattern in QNM a few years ago – Graduation Plaid – but it is made with 4 1/2″ and 2 1/2″ strips. I’ll have to try this version with squares.

  6. debmoyes says:

    The pattern makes me think of handwoven patterns, called summer and winter. Obviously, since they are woven and not pieced, you can turn them over to see the reverse of the pattern. Usually done in two colors, one side is darker (winter) and one side is lighter (summer). Very fun to work with positive and negatives!

  7. Great color combinations! Your charity quilts are always very special. I agree with others’ comments; this is a great pattern! What size is the block?

  8. Liz says:

    Oh. Now I see. Sorry, I looked too quickly. Nicely done. It still looks like lots of sewing though.

  9. Pingback: Yep.. still at it! | Dreamz Happen Quiltz

  10. Pingback: Fab-u-lous Fri-day! | Dreamz Happen Quiltz

Leave a Reply

