Kaleidoscope border


The kaleidoscope itself, especially with the fabrics I chose, is pretty busy so I thought a simple border might be in order.  I didn’t even attempt to use my wonky strata scraps as I originally planned.  I auditioned a plain strip with a narrow inner border and some strips cut from the strata but did not like either of those.  So I went online looking for ideas.  I found a nine patch border at quilting assistant.  I liked how it mirrored the star points in a square format but in my first attempt, the blocks were too big, the magenta too dark, the corner sections too large.  It was overpowering.  My second attempt with smaller blocks and my lighter magenta fabric was much more pleasing to my eye.  The decision was made.




The border is now finished.  In the final photo I have placed a folded sheet on my carpet and secured the quilt with pins for a final squaring press before I sandwich it for quilting.  Now I have to find a backing that will be a perfect companion for the front.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in kaleidoscope quilt, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Kaleidoscope border

  1. jennyklyon says:

    Perfect!

  2. Auntie Em says:

    Wow! Wow! Wow! I absolutely love it! The border is perfect.

  3. Lani Longshore says:

    That is a gorgeous border! With so much work in the center, no one would have questioned just a plain strip of fabric. The balance and movement is wonderful. You should definitely send a picture to some of the quilt magazines.

  4. debmoyes says:

    WOW! That is one amazing little quilt. I hope you have someplace wonderful to hang it. Have you mentioned the size?

  5. All of my instincts would have led me to the plain border. But what you did is just absolutely perfect. This entry is a testimony to the power of auditioning!

  6. Liz says:

    That is sensational. You have a good eye. I am impressed with your drafting skills. A fantastic project!

  7. This is lovely. Your hard work has paid off magnificently! I adore the border arrangement in terms of color and patterns. You must have an art background, yes? Awesome!

  8. piecedgoods says:

    What a great border! I love it!

  9. Carol says:

    I was about to say exactly what Donna said. Magnificent!! Of course this is going in Quilt Fest this year. Can’t wait to see how you are going to quilt it.

  10. Lisa Mason says:

    OMG That came out wonderfully. I love the border, it is just perfect. Can’t wait to see how you quilt it.

  11. Lynda says:

    I’ve been toying with a border much like yours. Love it! I may never finish mine tho.

Leave a Reply

