Still together after a wash

This little quilt was an experiment I conceived  to avoid trashing the scrap cuts from my Winner’s Bouquet quilt.  I had never done machine applique before but I knew there was an applique stitch on my new machine so why should I consult any other directions.  I made every mistake imaginable–no stabilizer, no fusible, dark bobbin thread.  The scrap cuts had not been meant for use so some of the tips were nicked from rotary cutting the Winner’s Bouquet pieces.  But DH liked it so I kept going, sashed it, machine quilted around the blocks, started hand quilting around each petal, even bound it.  Then my worry that it would never make it through the wash took over so it sat for a while.  My solution–I doused every point with FrayBlock.  Maybe I’ll do that again before the next wash!  If you don’t look too closely, you don’t really notice all the flaws 🙂

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand quilting, machine quilting, quilting, Winner's Bouquet pattern and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Still together after a wash

  1. Carol says:

    That certainly is a cute quilt – from bits that you might have thrown away. And a learning experience too! Does it have a title?

  2. Auntie Em says:

    Wow, I love it! That is one heck of a nice quilting stitch too!

  3. Lynda says:

    What a cute quilt from intended waste basket fabric! Good idea to use the fray block.

  4. Lisa Mason says:

    I’m a learning by trial and error kind of girl myself! Who the heck has time to read directions. 🙂 It came out very nicely though, always nice when the result is better than you thought it would be!

  5. debmoyes says:

    It’s very pretty with nice movement! I can see why you persisted. Is Fray Block the same as Fray Check?

    • quiltfever says:

      Deb, it looks to me like Dritz Fray Check and June Tailor Fray Block are essentially the same liquid product. It’s the first time I ever used it and I certainly was impressed.

  6. piecedgoods says:

    Lovely! I haven’t tried machine applique on anything other than Halloween costumes. Did you go back and correct some of the pieces and not others, or are all of them the same? It looks like it worked out fine in the end!

  7. Liz says:

    Looks to me like you have excellent control of your machine and your hand stitches are tiny!!! I have never heard of “Fray Block”. You have so many products that never make it out of the US. I wonder what else there is.
    The quilt is very pretty and has bonus points due to its scrap history.

  8. Bravo, Carol! This was clearly way out of your perfection personified comfort zone–I love it! You are one wild woman. : )

  9. Flaws? What flaws? I do see some extra nice hand quilting, though.

Leave a Reply

