Persuasive pressing

I had several comments about my reference to persuasive pressing in my last post.  I first heard the term at the Ricky Tims seminar when he was sewing non-matching curves.  I was using it to mean manipulating my pieced fabric with steam and pressure.  Today I received Paula Nadelstern’s Kaleidoscope Quilts:  The Workbook from Amazon and smiled at what she has to say about pressing her multi-seamed wonders.  “I press after every piecing sequence, joking that I press into submission in order to make each seam lie as flat as possible.  If I can’t press the seam open, I press toward the wider patch.  Sometimes it’s impossible to press a seam in any direction except the way it naturally flops.  In this case, press as flat as you can using steam, spray, a heavy iron, your entire body weight–whatever it takes.”

I have to thank Liz at quilterie for recommending Nadelstern to me.  It is a beautiful and informative book and I was not familiar with her work.  (Not sure I am quite up to the challenge of another Kaleidoscope quite yet though.)  Don’t forget that you have till Sunday March 20 to get in on Liz’s giveaway of Kaffe Fasset’s book “Quilt Romance” and all you have to do is leave her a comment with your favorite sewing room tip.  While you’re there you will want to check out some of her beautiful quilts.  If you are pressed for time, at least look at her post Spotty Outcomes from January this year–one of my favorites.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Persuasive pressing

  1. Lisa Mason says:

    I love it! “Use your entire body weight”, what are you girls pressing anyway??? hahaha.
    Thanks for the direction to Liz’s blog, very nice. I am now a follower!

  2. debmoyes says:

    All great words to get the @$%^ seams flat! I have taken several classes with Philippa Naylor and she likes her seams to be flat,flat,flat as well.

  3. I formerly called persuasive ironing “cheating,” (yes, I was a closet “ironing might fix it” quilter), but I like Tims’ term much better! Nadelstern’s description sounds exactly like my technique, right down to “all your weight”!

  4. This is why we work with cottons and not concrete or wood!

Leave a Reply

