Kaleidoscope–the center saga

Lots of photos today so I think I’ll try thumbnails.




First photo is my first set of replacement points.  I sewed them on (without trimming the original points) and laid the pieces together.  Although I have that fabric in my second strata, as a center the color looked too dull.  Next I thought about trying to capture the center of a flower but decided the seam allowances would make that look weird.  so I just cut 6 triangles from my background fabric, mixing up the colors in a “fruit salad” look.  In the third photo they are just pinned.




I measured the point location before I cut and used a little paper template to mark the points.  Then followed RT’s instructions for sewing the remaining 6 sections.  The resulting quilt was not totally flat but I thought I could do some persuasive pressing.  The next photo shows it needed more than pressing.  So even though Petunia and Tiglet thought it was OK, I took the center apart and tightened up the seams in about an 8 inch radius.  I did the very center by hand this time.  Kitties agree the second photo is much better.  Perfection me is happier too.




On the left, the final center without kitties  Second, the back–a little worn since I had to fiddle with it so much during machine stitching then seam ripping.  I pressed the seams open till the last cross seam, then twirled.  Love that flat twirl.  Threw in the photo of the whole back just because I thought it looked cool.  Now, onward to the border!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in kaleidoscope quilt, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Kaleidoscope–the center saga

  1. Lynda says:

    Such warm, vibrant colors. It’s going to be beautiful. I still need to decide….border or no border on mine.

  2. Lisa Mason says:

    Persuasive pressing. I love it! Carol it is looking just wonderful, your colors are fabulous.

  3. debmoyes says:

    Persuasive pressing….. I need to remember that when I am teaching. A very nice way to say it. I usually say smashing or squashing. It looks great and I do like the back. Thanks for all the photos.

  4. Lani Longshore says:

    Love the kitties! Also love the block, but I’ve got to say the photo of the whole back is very interesting, too. Maybe your next challenge will be to make something with an outlined look?

  5. Carol says:

    I have really enjoyed the saga of this quilt – or block – because it is one big block isn’t it. I love the look and your color choices – but I think you have convinced me that this is not going to the top of my must make quilts list! I think I will stick to my hand piecing.

  6. Liz says:

    I missed it when you said how big the block is. I’d loved to know the secret of persuasive pressing. I do like the contrast of fabric you chose. Very nice.

  7. piecedgoods says:

    I love the expression ‘persuasive pressing’! It’s so much more civilized than what I call it! I’m so glad you put in all those pictures. If I do another kaleidoscope I’m going to try your way and reduce the number of seams going into the middle. I think despite my best efforts, persuasive pressing, and a solid no pattern center, there’s no escaping a thick center. I think some persuasive quilting will be in order in that region.
    Your block looks great. I can’t wait to see more!

  8. Bravo, Carol! Persistence, perseverance, patience, and, perhaps, perfectionism, pay off! Thanks for all the detail and description! My hat is off to you on this one!

  9. Auntie Em says:

    You are my hero for coming up with this idea. Thanks for all the photos to show how it came together.

Leave a Reply

