Quilt history continued–2005

I have really been lax about my goal to document my quilt history from the beginning.  Following is one more year.  But first, be sure to check out the giveaway (a new copy of Kaffe Fasset’s book “Quilt Romance”) at Liz’s blog quilterie.  And I promise I’ll get back to posting about Kaleidoscope early this week.

You may have noticed I often make several quilts by the same pattern.  This year was no exception–my Windmill phase.  I made one for my friend Judy and one for my friend Pat.  I also helped my mom make one for herself but I’m going to do a post about all her quilts later.  Here are Judy and Pat’s quilts.




My friend Lisa collects giraffes and people often gift her with clothing which features them.  Some of her shirts were not fitting anymore but she didn’t want to give them away so I cut them up and made a quilt for her.  She also gave me some jungle print fabric to finish out the quilt.  This was a fun project to make and Lisa loves it.

Lastly, a quilt inspired by a beautiful piece of fabric.  I envisioned cutting the stripes and somehow putting it back together.  When I saw the Quebec pattern in a magazine, it spoke to me.  The pattern involved starting the block with a partial seam and the blocks had a tilt to them–different from anything I’d ever done.  I had to work out my own math for the strip triangles because they had to fit my center fabric flowers.  That was fun–not.  I started this quilt in 2004 while I was still working but was interrupted by a long business trip.  When I returned I realized I had not made notes about my final measurements (aargh!) so the quilt languished for a while before I finally dug in and finished it.  I always planned to keep it because of the fabric and I’m pleased with the look but I think the fabric was not 100% cotton as it tends to pill.




I mentioned at the end of my 2004 history that I started getting haphazard about quilt photos.  I’m missing two for 2005.  One was a Southwest fabric with cacti and lizards (gold, rust and teal) which I simply cut into squares and sashed with complimentary colors for my cousin Steve who lives in Albuquerque.  For his  younger brother Stan, I made a double pinwheel lap quilt in red, black and white.  I really liked that one and I think he sent me photos after I gave it to him but unfortunately I can’t find them.   Since he passed a few years ago, I just have to hope they will resurface.  2006 coming soon (I hope).

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in family and friends, hand quilting, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quilt history continued–2005

  1. Liz says:

    I loved looking at your quilt history. That stunning fabric in the Quebec quilt worked well. I find it difficult to return to a quilt top that has been languishing for long. Well done for finishing it.

  2. Lisa says:

    This is Lisa, and yes I absolutely LOVE my traveling giraffe quilt my good friend made…and it was a way to keep other friends close to my heart :o)

  3. Carol, thanks for this “next chapter”! I’m enjoying your quilt stories so much. They’re a memoir of part of your life through the lens of quilting, but more than that, these stories are snapshots of friendship, love, loss, giving, and memories–the stuff of life. I adore the giraffe quilt and its embedded stories, and the starfish are beyond sweet!

  4. debmoyes says:

    It can be hard to keep track of quilts. I was very good about it in the beginning and now not so much. I make a lot of samples for my classes and sometimes those don’t seem to “count” in my mind. I make very few quilts to give away, so that isn’t an issue. Your cousins…… hmmm…you are too kind!

Leave a Reply

