Kaleidoscope round 5


Moving forward, round 5–the final strata–is cut.  Now on to butts and wedgies.  Liz at quilterie left a comment on my last post introducing me to Paula Nadelstern’s kaleidoscopes.  Nadelstern evidently came up with the idea before me of reducing the fabric pieces at the center.  Just from a quick look on Amazon, her quilts look fabulously complex with well-planned fabric choices.  I’ll have a more comprehensive report when my book order arrives!  With all the lessons learned from this first quilt, maybe there is another similar project looming in my future.  I’ll wait to get the book before I commit further.  Anybody else interested?

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in kaleidoscope quilt, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kaleidoscope round 5

  1. Lisa Mason says:

    I saw a show of Paula’s a few years ago in NYC, her quilts are so intricate. Great minds must think alike, your figuring out reducing the number of pieces in the center! I can’t wait to see what you have to say about her process compared to Ricky’s.
    Your kaleidoscope looks fantastic!

  2. Carol says:

    Not me thank you very much – I have 8 Inklingo projects in the works and several more projects very high up on the must do list! It is beautiful and will be very dramatic. If you’ve ordered Paula’s book I can see more kaleidoscopes in your quilting future.

  3. Auntie Em says:

    It’s looking great! I love the variety of colors and prints you have used.

  4. Lynda says:

    It turned out beautiful! This has been so much fun seeing everyone’s quilts. I think I may try this again….maybe a little pillow would be fun to try from my left over fabrics. Looking forward to your borders.

  5. Liz says:

    What a great block! I am glad you have ordered the book. It is dense with information and well worth the purchase price. Even more so if you actually plan to use the information!

  6. debmoyes says:

    Nice…….. I like your value change a lot; it makes the center pop!

  7. piecedgoods says:

    Continuing our kaleidoscope community would be fun! Which Paula Nadelstern book did you order? I’m debating following the Kool Kaleidoscope with a Nadelstern Kaleidoscope because I’m not a big fan of fussy cutting and that seems like a big element in her quilts. I’m going to finish my current quilt and see what inspires!

Leave a Reply

