Kaleidoscope round 4 and background preview




Round 4 is cut with no snags since I was able to see a preview first.  The second photo is a sneak peak at my yummy “background” fabric.  It will actually just fill the corners to turn the medallion into a square.  Ricky Tims calls the big white template the butt and the skinny sliver the wedgie.  For each corner there are two wedgies and one butt.  The little triangle piece is the round 5 template which I will do tomorrow.  Then I’ll be ready to sew all these pieces together.  Deb at A Daily Dose of Fiber commented on my last post that “it looks nasty to piece.”  I’m dreading finding out because I fear she may be correct.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in kaleidoscope quilt, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Kaleidoscope round 4 and background preview

  1. At this point? In for a penny, in for a pound. You’re so committed to this that the piecing will just breeze along! And you’re right about that background fabric!

  2. Carol says:

    All along I have been thinking about the piecing – but I managed the 16 seams at the points of my Alabama Beauties (by hand) – so I am confident you can do it! Will you be doing it by machine or hand?

  3. Lisa Mason says:

    I have been wondering about the piecing too, but something that gorgeous could never be easy that’s for sure. I’m assuming that you piece each wedge and then piece the wedges together right? Like a big pizza.
    I love, love love your “yummy” background fabric! Looking forward to the next update.

    • quiltfever says:

      Lisa, you must start with the outer pieces 4 and 5. Then work your way inward. And finally sew the slices together. You know I’m really looking forward to 12 pieces of fabric coming together in that middle seam–not!

  4. piecedgoods says:

    Yeah 12 seams….It’s scary, but it’s not that bad! Of course, heed all the warnings and follow the instructions but it’s not rocket science. I remember making my first lone star block as an ambitious beginner…I don’t know what I was doing then…it sewed up into a what I called a large bra cup. Disappointing, and not my size. That project was never finished but I learned a few things.
    I can see you’ve done other amazing piecing. This’ll be a piece of cake.
    OH! Before I forget, I love your background fabric!

  5. Lani Longshore says:

    I always tell my students that quilters don’t need patience, they need perseverance. You’ve already demonstrated that with this block, so you’ll be fine. And with such a cheery background, you have that much more incentive to finish!

  6. Lynda says:

    Wow, yours is beautiful! I sewed all the strips together and then cut out all the pieces without hardly thinking of what would be next to each other or anything. I think my next attempt at this quilt….and there will be another….I will use less fabrics and think a little more. I too am going to use all the left over pieces for the border. It has been a fun process for sure.

  7. Auntie Em says:

    Wow, that really IS yummy background fabric. I love the whole look of your colors. They are so fresh and summery.
    I have been dreading that center piecing! I wish that Ricky Tims had addressed that directly in the book.
    Pop on over to see my latest post with pics of the piecing.

  8. Zoey says:

    Wow! This is beautiful! I agree with a Daily Dose of Fiber that it does not look easy to piece.

Leave a Reply

