Kaleidoscope round 3 SNAG

It may be a little hard to see my round 3 experiments–especially since the light outer fabric blends with my tile design floor.  In this photo look at the three additions on top of the orange points.  Starting to the right of the freezer paper, attempt 1.  I did not like the split chevron where it met the orange.  I changed the angle of my template on the strata and cut attempt 2 (moving clockwise).  Now the magenta strip is flat and there is just too much orange touching.  Yuck!  Continuing clockwise, attempt 3 I cut longways with the strips using only two of the colors in my strata.  I like this one but have by now used too much of my strata to cut 5 more sets.  A minor slowdown.  I’ll sew two new strata of only two colors.  Hopefully a completed round 3 photo tomorrow.

I told my friend Carol about the snag before publishing this post.  She was mortified about wasting fabric and thought there must be a way to preview before cutting.  The idea I’ve come up with for Round 4 is to fold my two mirror strata and place it in the next position.  Then cover with a contrasting fabric where I plan to cut.  Harder to describe than do I think.  Watch for the experiment in a future post.  Meanwhile, I was already planning to use my left-over cuts for a scrappy border and Ricky Tims had said this might require more strata so nothing will go to waste.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in kaleidoscope quilt, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kaleidoscope round 3 SNAG

  1. Lisa Mason says:

    I like your third choice the best too. I really like the way this is progressing. It has lost the hexie-ness that you were worried about in the beginning.

  2. Carol says:

    I am voting with Lisa – definitely #3. I am going to have to get that book I can’t figure out what you are doing. I don’t like big surprises in my blocks so I don’t think this is for me.

  3. How frustrating! I’ve been there, done that, and I’m still doing that more often than I’d like. Three is looking good–proof that persistence pays off. I really appreciate the way you’re sharing your process. I’m learning so much!

  4. Auntie Em says:

    I like either choice #1 or #3.
    Before I made my cuts, I put the template into position on the design wall and figured out which general direction I wanted the next row of strata to go. I then made a couple of lines in the template just using my fingernail and used those as a guideline when placing the template on the fabric.

Leave a Reply

