Kaleidoscope beginning

A few weeks ago I saw a post by Patty at piecedgoods declaring that she and her co-quilter Schnap were going to try making a Kaleidoscope quilt.  Since I had publicly proclaimed (after attending the Ricky Tims seminar) that this was my next machine pieced project, I decided to join them.  She has her medallion together and it is wonderful.  Here are the first 12 center pieces of mine.  After pouring over the book last night, I changed my pattern design to yield a more pointy center star.  I did not realize until I had cut all 12 pieces and laid it out that the center angles yield more of a hexagon than a star.  This is not the look I was hoping for.  There are four more strata pairs to sew and cut.  Then you begin sewing from the outer edge.  I don’t want to do a lot more sewing and still not be happy so I’m going to sleep on this and maybe start over.  Or perhaps after studying the photos some more, I’ll decide to at least make one more round and then decide.  Please stay tuned!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in kaleidoscope quilt, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kaleidoscope beginning

  1. Carol says:

    That is most definitely a hexagon! Not bad – but if it’s not what you want – I know that feeling. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with.

  2. The colors sing “spring” to me–delightful! You may not be pleased (or maybe you will be after a night’s break), I know all too well how that goes, but you’re so right to stop and “think on it” before continuing. That’s a lesson I’m still learning. Mostly, though, I’m in awe of your skills and the range of your quilts. Me, I’m still psyching up to make another wonky star–maybe with the K-F fabric this time. As always, reading your blog inspires me!

  3. What background would this stars sit on? If it’s light, the points would show, wouldn’t they?

  4. Lisa Mason says:

    Could you try changing it around and switch the points? Maybe it won’t look so much like a hexie. I don’t mind the hexie look, but I think it is bugging you. Hope fresh eyes of the morning help you decide!

  5. piecedgoods says:

    I like your first round! I love the colors – they’re so happy and sunny and bright.
    The scrap kaleidoscope (my #2) I cut out has the same hexagon problem, but I found it becomes much less evident with the additional ‘shards’ of strata – especially if you pay attention to value in the strips as you’re cutting.
    I found this late in the game….in case you haven’t found it – Page 26 in the book has a tip from Ricky Tims on figuring out how to cut so that things are angled as you’d like for future cuts. Cheers!

  6. debmoyes says:

    Very pretty! I like your colors a lot. Can’t wait to see more….

  7. It looks like a good beginning to me.

Leave a Reply

