Assistance needed–my first hand dyed fabric




This is not exactly the color I was after but for my first attempt (self-taught of course), I am not totally unhappy.  Both pieces need more dye.  I was thinking about trying a low water immersion–light blue for the spiral but would like suggestions before proceeding.  I would be grateful for any ideas left in comments.

I have been seeing some beautiful mandalas on various blogs and decided I need one as a backing for my Tumbling Stars quilt.  These first two were just experiments which I can use as backings for charity quilts.  I’m going to buy some different dyes tomorrow and I’ve ordered the Fabric Dyer’s Dictionary.  Might as well get intense!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand dyeing, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Assistance needed–my first hand dyed fabric

  1. I would tie dye the top one that has a lot of white space with a blue – it will mix with the red to make a purple and the yellow to make a green – in theory anyway – I am not a dyer – so cannot predict what will actually happen on the fabric – try it!

  2. Lisa Mason says:

    I think Carol is right, you could add in some blue to get greens and purples. I have only tie dyed kids t-shirts, so I may not be much help here. I think they look good though. Maybe next time don’t bind them so tightly before the die. I think it’s one of those keep trying thing out kind of process. Good luck! hope you have good rubber gloves. 🙂

  3. Susan says:

    I think your fabrics are beautiful, but if you aren’t happy with them, you can always do just as you suggested and overdye them. Go for it…half the fun of dyeing is the experimenting!

  4. Holy Cow! Are you ever off and running! Best wishes with this new venture. Thought: fabrics crayons?paints? to get the effect you want?

  5. debmoyes says:

    I very much like the one on the right as is. The center design, which I am sure you carefully planned, is really nice! The one on the left you could overdye or try another swirl with some mixed colors- some oranges perhaps? Nice job!

  6. Ruth Gilliland says:

    Love the spiral. Very dynamic – lots of movement. Can’t wait to see how it comes out when you over-dye.

  7. Carol, these designs are great! I can tell that you put a lot of effort into set up. I think your idea of a blue (or blues) over-dye is spot on. You’ll get some interesting greens and purples, depending on the shade(s) of blue. I’m a total novice at dying, but I’m intrigued nevertheless.

Leave a Reply

