Two columns joined–tumbling stars

It is always so exciting for me to get to this point–seeing some of the raw edges disappear.  I left one piece bottom left unattached because I am considering that fabric for a border.  If it becomes the outer border, I can go ahead and stitch it.  Otherwise, I’ll replace with another dark.  I still have a long way to go before this top is complete.  I think I counted 36 joiner stars which need the surrounding diamonds stitched and for some of those I have to keep checking against the design wall to make sure the directional print is positioned correctly.  I hand piece in my living room instead of the sewing room so with those units, I am getting plenty of exercise.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand piecing, quilting, tumbling stars and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Two columns joined–tumbling stars

  1. Very well put – “seeing some of the raw edges disappear” – that is so true! We work for so long on the individual blocks – when we start to join them it seems like the end is in sight.

  2. Lisa says:

    Oh Carol, it is so beautiful! Glad you are making such great progress. I always consider the up and downa dn back and forth to the design wall as my exercise for the day! No gym needed. hehehe. Well, it’s a stretch I know, but I’m sticking with it!

  3. Hurray! I love the movement you’ve created here–just beautiful. Your quilting inspires me to get out of my safe, simple-beginner mode and attempt new, more complicated work. Bravo, Carol!

  4. It is stunning!! I love how you’ve used colours in this — just want to keep gazing at the picture!

  5. Gail says:

    That is a lot of hand sewing! I see your stars have tumbled off of your design wall onto the floor! I use a design floor as well. The “ugly” fabric just fades away into the wonderful stars in this quilt. I will keep an eye on your progress! Gail

Leave a Reply

