Hand quilting the border

I’m sure you can all relate.  This is what I should be doing–finishing a project instead of working on my next one.  I keep telling myself I will definitely do it tomorrow.

I’m undoing the basting which was required to quilt the interior on the quilt frame.  I am just quilting in the ditch but to make sure all the piano keys remain straight, I’m pinning a whole side before beginning.  Can you see I use a grapefruit spoon for opening and closing the safety pins?  Very cool to already have a tool in the flatware drawer which works so well for a quilting task!  Back on this tomorrow for sure–maybe.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand quilting, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hand quilting the border

  1. Lisa Mason says:

    I have the same problem! I lose steam at the end of a project, start thinking about the next one, and just want to jump in. I think we all have this to a degree. I do love the feeling of finishing something, but there is a bit of sadness too. Isn’t that crazy? I try to savor every minute I am working on something I just love, but there are always thoughts of okay what’s next??
    Hope you make it back to this project tomorrow . . . if you want to!

  2. debmoyes says:

    Well thanks for posting on my blog first! I like people to comment – it’s nice to know that someone is reading. Very pretty quilt! I do not like quilting the borders…. :-<

Leave a Reply

