Tumbling stars design process

I have already posted a current state photo of my tumbling stars.  But as I was looking through that photo folder, I thought I should show some earlier thought processes.



With the jumble of color I had already thrown into the mix, I needed a connecting fabric to tie it all together.  Here were the first two attempts with fabric I already owned.  It was OK that these did not work as I didn’t have enough of either to cut all the connecting stars.  While I was mulling things over I also threw out the print in the bottom star on the right.  The pattern repeat was too large to make a pleasing 6-point star.  I consulted with my friend Carol about the connecting fabric and her suggestion was to try something lighter or darker.  We decided this Tea for Two by Yuko Hasegawa (RJR Fabrics) was a keeper,  especially since the quilt design was inspired by Japanese quilter Reiko Washizawa.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand piecing, quilting, tumbling stars and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tumbling stars design process

  1. These new photos are really helpful! I like seeing the progression and pieces of the puzzle as it comes together. It’s also great to learn about your process. Beautiful fabric!

  2. Lisa Mason says:

    Love seeing your thought process here. Sometimes I think looking at a photograph of what I am wokring on helps me to “see” it better and find the changes I need to make.

  3. debmoyes says:

    I see why you liked my spinning star; it’s a “wonky” curved version of what you are working on. So many people think one patch quilts must be boring, but when you are planning the many designs you can make and playing with color values, it’s fascinating. I tore a page out of a catalog some years ago because of the quilt pattern. The top of the bed was a seven sisters sort of star design and the border was tumbling blocks! I use it to help students see some of the ways they can use 60 degree diamonds. I like your choice of a quiet background.

Leave a Reply

