2011 charity quilt #2

Here’s the beginning of my next charity quilt.  (My mom and I had an abundance of orange in our stashes 🙂 )  I got tired of making strips and substituted a few 5-inch squares.  Am pleased with how that’s working out.   I would be further along but I didn’t realize it would matter how I sewed the strip squares together until I started arranging them.  I had about half of them wrong so had to spend a bit of time with the seam ripper and re-sewing.  I will do some final arranging before I start sewing the blocks together.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in charity quilts, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2011 charity quilt #2

  1. Lisa Mason says:

    Carol,
    What a cheery quilt! The lucky recipient will be so pleased. I love the squares mixed in with the strips breaks it up a bit and makes it lighter. Good choice.

    Don’t you just love a seam ripper? I think it is my favorite tool. I used to get frustrated when I needed to use it, but now I am just grateful to have it and that I can see well enough to use it! hahaha

  2. This is lovely! I adore orange–especially in the winter! And it’s a “real” quilt size–not a lap or “comfort” size (like I just made). Someone is going to be very lucky! P.S. I also adore my seam ripper!

  3. Yes, yes – I’m getting it – I need to do a charity quilt. Keep posting and keep me thinking!

Leave a Reply

