Charity quilt finish




I finally finished machine quilting my first charity quilt for 2011.  I had already stitched  in the ditch around the blocks but it obviously needed more.  I ended up doing my original plan which was to stitch the long seams within each block.  I hesitated because in every other block those seams ran perpendicular to the next one.  I sewed a for 9 inches then skipped over a block and sewed the next one.  Then I came back and did the other side of that block.  It all worked out and was probably easier than snipping and restarting.  I like the look after I washed it.  Now all I have to do is make a pillowcase (a nice touch my guild started doing last year) and it will be ready to donate.  On to the next one!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in charity quilts, machine quilting, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Charity quilt finish

  1. Very nice – isn’t it a nice feeling to pull the quilt out of the dryer – a real sense of accomplishment.

  2. Yes, you’re right – time for a charity quilt. Thanks for the lovely reminder!

  3. Lovely colors! Guess it’s time for me to get back to my Quilt for Kids quilt, too! Good plan for the quilting–I just may follow your lead!

  4. Lisa Mason says:

    Looks great! Nice idea with the matching pillow case, I’ll have to remember that. I need to make some charity quilts too. Thanks for the reminder.

  5. Ivory Spring says:

    Beautiful – I like the soft colors.

Leave a Reply

