Tumbling stars–another hand pieced project

This is what I’ve been playing with during breaks from quilting the brown stars.    It’s my version of Reiko Washizawa’s Tumbling Stars from her book Classic Quilts Contemporary Style.  Some of the color choices in her book are quite different from typical US tastes.  That got me thinking about some odd fabrics in my stash and a plan was born.  My quilty friend Carol also contributed from her huge stash.

The hexagon stars and the light connector stars are sewn together.  All the other tumbling block pieces are just stuck onto my flannel design wall–some a little haphazardly since they may move again.  I wish I had a fast motion video of every time I’ve moved the pieces around already.  I’m sure that number is in the hundreds.  When I’m sure of my final design, I will begin to sew 6 different diamonds to each connector star.  That placement has to be exact and I will have to do one star at a time, checking often against the design wall.  If there are any mistakes, they will have to be ripped out because they will be instantly noticeable.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand piecing, quilting, tumbling stars and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tumbling stars–another hand pieced project

  1. Got it – I like this format with the whole post instead of an excerpt.

  2. Lisa Mason says:

    Carol that looks wonderful! Colors are great. I love the pink and green star in the second row, it looks like it is spinning! You must have the patience of a saint, and a chair right next to your design wall.

  3. Love it!! What a beautiful quilt this will be — lovely colour choices and a great design!

  4. Nancy says:

    I love this quilt Carol. It is going to be beautiful! What an heirloom quilt!

  5. This is wonderful–I love the colors, the movement, the design! Really exciting. Thinking of you moving pieces around brings to mind an image of monks on the floor creating designs in sand–so measured, beautiful, and intentional, and yet impermanent. I’m glad your final design will be an enduring quilt!

  6. annjrippin says:

    This looks really lovely, but it’s not done over papers – right? That’s really clever and the colours are gorgeous.

    • quiltfever says:

      Thanks Ann and you are correct. It is not paper pieced. I cut three inch strips with my rotary cutter and then cut those into diamonds (60 degree). I just eyeball the 1/4 inch seam allowance and join the pieces with a running stitch. Jinny Beyer’s Quiltmaking by Hand is my favorite hand piecing resource.

  7. Yael Ben-Ari says:

    Carol,
    This is wonderful. I love the colors that you have used and I love the pattern.

    Yael

  8. Ivory Spring says:

    This is going to be a stunner. I love the colors.

Leave a Reply

