Hand quilting brown stars

I have divided this hand quilting task into three phases.  Phase 1 is complete and the quilt is off the frame.  Let me explain my process for this project.

I really like using my large quilt frame instead of hoops because it goes faster.  And I find it easier quilting across (right to left) rather than toward myself so this influences my design thinking.  I was able to do the chevrons–lower left shows a stand-alone–on the frame in dark brown thread.  Phase 2 will be quilting around the stars in a lighter tan thread using a hoop.  Phase 3 is the border.  Because the piano key border does not have an outside border strip to anchor the hand stitches, I had to baste the edges of the quilt midway into the border.  So I will have to undo the basting to be able to hand quilt to the edge where the binding will be attached.  I’ve never done it this way so I’m hoping it works.  I will probably have to run a stay-stitch down the raw edge to stabilize before proceeding.  Wish me luck.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand piecing, hand quilting, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hand quilting brown stars

  1. This is a beautiful pattern. One day I will try hand-quilting on something larger than a small pillow or wall hanging! You said to wish you luck, so good luck!

    Also, from your previous post, I laughed when I read about “iron incontinence”! I always thought I was odd, using a dry iron and a spritzer, but that’s why I do it that way–to avoid the leakage problem.

Leave a Reply

