First quilts continued–2003

As I slow poke hand quilt my brown stars (quite a wait till new photos), I’ll continue with my quest to document my personal quilt history–mostly for my own records.

When I made the chemo quilt for Ava in 2002, it got me thinking about what we leave behind when we are gone.  I had a couple of quilts I was going to keep for myself so now I wanted to leave some gifts from my heart–handmade quilts–for family and close friends.  By the way, almost every quilt I’ve made has been quilted on that handmade quilt frame from My Big Bang post.  My friend Judy who gave it to me said it belonged to the grandmother of a co-worker.  I’m going to try to find out more about her.  I imagine her loving husband made the quilt frame for her.  I wonder if they ever dreamed it would find such a good home in its next life?

I don’t have any children of my own so my quilt list started with my two step-daughters from my first marriage.  The photo on the left shows how I baste my sandwiches before they go on the frame.  This was a few years ago and it’s the way I still do it but it gets harder every year.  The Monkey Wrench was for my oldest stepdaughter Kim.  Then I made a Friendship Star for her younger sister Tara.




By this time I had started purchasing fabric with no end project in mind.  I had some green and purple that I thought my sister Ruth and her husband would like so I found a photo in my only quilt book and started to work.  She saw it in progress and said she liked it. It was finished for her 50th birthday.  I was aiming for more of a Milky Way look but I didn’t get the lights and darks right–add one to the learning curve.  Then I made a little Card Trick wall hanging for my friend Judy who gave me the quilt frame.  She picked the colors to go with a lovely floral comforter in her bedroom.





Of course I had been talking about my new hobby at work and my co-worker Tom asked if I would make a quilt for him.  He even offered to pay me!  I didn’t want to set a bad precedent but Tom really was a close buddy so I said yes I would make it but no he could not pay me.  Then I swore him to secrecy.  He gave me some color preferences and I got busy.   I guess I was in my Friendship Star phase 🙂   My mom helped me quilt it.




I found the photo on the left in a magazine article about decorating with blue and decided I needed to make a quilt for my aunt Emma who has a collection of Blue Willow and cobalt blue glass.  I don’t have a photo of the finished quilt (I bound it with dark red).  The last picture shows it on the floor ready for sandwiching.  Quilt history 2004 coming soon!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in family and friends, hand quilting, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to First quilts continued–2003

  1. Enjoying your quilt history – and you even have pictures to illustrate the story – until I started my blog I really didn’t take pictures of my quilts – I regret that now. The Monkey Wrench is my favorite – I really like that pattern.

  2. Lisa Mason says:

    Look at all those wonderful quilts! I went through a friendship start phase too. Made tons of them. One left with my ex-husband, but that’s fine, took lots of photos. Of course all the photos are in an album, not digital. Did you scan all of your pictures? Such a great idea to document all your quilts on your blog. Love seeing them.

    • quiltfever says:

      Lisa, I don’t remember what year we got the digital camera but I did start a massive scanning project around that time. I was so intense about it that the repetitive motion started hurting my neck! So I never finished. I find even with digital photos, I seem to lose some when changing PC’s or storage devices. It has been a struggle to put this history together!

  3. Liz says:

    Hi, I would love to reply to your insightful comments on my blog but I can’t. Your “quiltfever.wordpress.com” isn’t working for me. And your comment comes into my inbox as “no-reply”. Can you change that so I can contact you? Sorry to do this so publicly. all the best, Liz

  4. annjrippin says:

    What a great blog. And how much I envy you your Ricky Tims workshop. Thanks for your kind words about mine.

  5. Tiff says:

    That’s how I baste, too! 🙂

    I love the stories with the quilts — you have some very lucky friends.

  6. ali says:

    This was wonderful to read and see! I really appreciate the way you’re writing your quilt history for yourself and sharing it with your readers, too. This post reminds me of a book I use when I teach Women’s Writing, “Storycatcher,” by Christina Baldwin. It speaks to the power of telling and even creating our lives through our stories. Great story “catching” here–thanks!

  7. So glad you included pictures of yourself as well as your quilts! I so strongly agree that quilting for others is at the heart of why we do what we do. And what a gift! Both the quilting as well as the giving.

Leave a Reply

