Hand piecing–part 2 hexagon stars



While I was piecing the units for my brown stars, I reached a point where I got discouraged and bored.  I was loving the design but I started worrying about squaring the top and bottom and there was just not enough color play to pull me along.  I had originally wanted to do this quilt in blues and yellows but finding the blues I wanted was a challenge.  While I continued to stitch (intermittently) on the brown stars, every time I saw a blue or yellow that caught my eye, it came home with me.  I did not want to make the exact same quilt again so I drew my inspiration from the quilt I inherited from my mom’s mother.  Isn’t she cute in her white gloves and aren’t the old fabrics wonderful?



I laid it flat and worked on making my own pattern pieces.  It was an interesting exercise and I learned that you can make a hexagon from a diamond by cutting off both points!  Pictures at the top of this post show my progress so far.  I have tried to group my fabrics in six different arrangements of the dark blue, light blue and yellow depending on which was the center hexagon, the star points or the filler diamonds.  My friend Carol let me raid her stash and then later I added some larger prints–still a WIP but mostly on hold until I get the brown stars on the quilt frame.  Hopefully both will reach finished status in 2011.

Wishing a happy and prosperous New Year to all!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand piecing, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hand piecing–part 2 hexagon stars

  1. booksnquilts says:

    This is going to be a gorgeous quilt! I, too, love blues and yellows. But I tend to collect my blues in batiks rather than prints. I do have a blue and yellow UFO (just a set of about 8 blocks) floating around that I think is going to come out to make a runner or two. Interesting about hexagons and diamonds. I’ll have to remember that. Happy New Year!

  2. This is going to be such a beautiful quilt. I love the blues.
    Hoping you have a Very Happy New Year 2011.

    Yael

  3. Cathi says:

    This is going to be a beautiful quilt. There’s something about blues and yellows that always attracts me.

  4. Beautiful! Wow–I love the colors and your skilled precision. I’m inspired–when I get to China, I will still be in a cast and stuck inside, so I’m going to give this a go. I’ll post my progress–or lack of–on my blog so you can hold me to it! Happy New Year (almost, here in New England)!

Leave a Reply

