Third border attempt for handpieced stars



This is it.  It won’t be perfect as this is only my second attempt at applique and these little points are sometimes less than “stellar.”  But I want to get this quilt off my design wall and onto the quilt frame.  On the left is a photo of my bias strips beside the second border which is still attached to the quilt.  I may possibly use a strip of this border on the back–to remind me of the long journey.  Center and right are the applique design in progress.  At first I was just trying to eyeball the vine but decided to make a template from the first placement to make things more uniform.  The horizontal border sections are shorter which will require another template.  The applique stars and “leaves” are made from cutting some leftover 3″ diamonds into 4 pieces each.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in applique, hand piecing, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Third border attempt for handpieced stars

  1. booksnquilts says:

    Sometimes it just feels good to make a decision, doesn’t it. I really like the way this lighter border makes the 3D effect of the main quilt really pop. Good luck with your applique!

  2. I really like the 3D effect in this quilt and the 6 pointed stars. Since I’m Jewish, I would really love to do 6 pointed stars in shades of blue, white and purple, but am rather intimidated by hand work. Would love to find a machine method though. Also, I am really loving the colors in some of your other quilts, the blues, greens and pinks. And I love the “Grandmothers Flower Garden” quilts. Several aunts and my grandmother did those by hand, and I always loved them. Yael

  3. Gayle says:

    What a beautiful quilt this is, and the border makes it REALLY special.
    I would love to know where to find the pattern for the Winner’s Bouquet quilt.
    And thanks for the link to directions on a new-to-me method of piecing the GFG. I plan on trying that. I have a GFG die on order for my GO! cutter.

    Gayle

  4. Carol I have been studying the light piano keys border and have come to the conclusion that it is perfect! Leave it alone – don’t add anything in the corners – I think that will look like an afterthought. Funny how both of our recent quilt border dilemmas ended up with piano keys – maybe there is a lesson there – if you can’t decide on a border try piano keys!

Leave a Reply

