Winner’s Bouquet almost finished

I lack a little over one row of hand quilting plus whatever I am going to quilt in the outer border but for all practical purposes Winner’s Bouquet is finished.  DH and I have been sleeping under it (with the unfinished part at the bottom of the bed) since it has turned cold in Florida.  This is the largest quilt I have ever made–90″ x 90″–and I am happy to report the cover wars have ended!

I don’t usually bind a quilt till it is totally finished but in this case I had already machine quilted around the blocks so it was stabilized.  Adding my hand quilting was hurting my hands so I did the binding which used slightly different muscles.  At least that got it on the bed earlier.  Here are a couple of close ups of the quilting I’m adding.  I am using two different thread colors (Gutermann hand quilting), depending on which fabric it is on or near.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in curved piecing, quilting, Winner's Bouquet pattern and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winner’s Bouquet almost finished

  1. The quilt turned out beautiful. Your blocks are pieced so precisely and the hand quilting really adds to it. Very nice.

  2. I’m so impressed with your handquilting! I’m looking forward to going back through your blog.

Leave a Reply

